Replace the fans outlined HERE 



Recommended replacement fans can be purchased here on Amazon




Here’s how to swap out the proprietary power connectors 

Instructions and files created by the process outlined HERE & HERE 

After the fans have been replaced the BCM controller will freak out whenever the fans get below a certain RPM, so every 3 min or so the controller will ramp up all the fans to 100% then ramp them down progressively until the threshold is reached again. Below are instructions to upgrade the main BIOS and BMC firmware using a bootable Dell diagnostics DOS based utility.


Tested on Dell PowerEdge 2900 ONLY! Attempt at your own risk – not recommended on any other model.

Tools included in archive

DELL_32-BIT-DIAGNOSTICS_5118-3_R212797.exe – creates a DOS based Dell diagnostics bootable utility

\BMC\bmcfl16d.exe – DOS based BMC update utility – directory includes modified firmware with lowered fan thresholds Fans 1-6 600rpm 7-8 0rpm

\BIOS\PE2900-020700CBIOS.exe – DOS based BIOS update utility – will update main BIOS to 2.7.0



Extract archive usin 7zip, WinRAR, etc

Have a 1GB flash drive FAT formatted ready – run DELL_32-BIT-DIAGNOSTICS_5118-3_R212797.exe select Install to USB

Copy the folders BMC & BIOS to the newly created bootable USB


On the PE2900 boot and press> F11 – Select Internal C: (USB Disk)

When the Diagnostics menue apears select> option 4 Exit

type> c:\

-To update BIOS to 2.7.0
Type> cd bios
Type> PE2900-020700CBIOS.exe      – Follow the instructions -Reboot when asked

-To update BCM firmware with lowered fan thresholds
Type> cd BCM
TYPE> bmcfl16d.exe -f      – follow the instructions – reboot when completed (fans will ramp up to 100% during flashing)



Login as either root or user


(enter root password if not logged in as root)

Update the repository listings

apt-get update
apt-get upgrade

Time to install Samba

apt-get install samba

Make a copy of the original config file

cp /etc/samba/smb.conf /etc/samba/smb.conf.original
chmod a-w /etc/samba/smb.conf.original

Change the config file

nano /etc/samba/smb.conf

find workgroup using ctrl+w, change the following

workgroup = your workgroup

security = user

In the printers section add

browsable = yes
guest ok = yes

ctrl+x – to close and save the file

Restart samba service

/etc/init.d/samba restart

Now time to setup Cups

apt-get install cups

Make a copy of the original config file

cp /etc/cups/cupsd.conf /etc/cups/cupsd.conf.original
chmod a-w /etc/cups/cupsd.conf.original

Change the config file, mine is displayed below for reference. (make sure to replace .xxx with your servers ip address)

nano /etc/cups/cupsd.conf


# Administrator user group…
SystemGroup lpadmin
# Only listen for connections from the local machine.
#Listen localhost:631
Listen /var/run/cups/cups.sock

# Show shared printers on the local network.
Browsing On
BrowseOrder allow,deny
BrowseAllow all
BrowseAddress @LOCAL

# Default authentication type, when authentication is required…
DefaultAuthType Basic

# Restrict access to the server…
<Location />
Order allow,deny
Allow localhost
Allow @LOCAL

# Restrict access to the admin pages…
<Location /admin>
Order allow,deny
Allow @LOCAL

# Restrict access to configuration files…
<Location /admin/conf>
AuthType Default
Require user @SYSTEM
Order allow,deny
Allow @LOCAL


Restart the cups service

/etc/init.d/cups restart

Add your user to the lpadmin group

usermod -aG lpadmin yourusername

You’re all done you can now go to  ‘http://serverIP:631/admin’ to configure cups.


Google+ images security hole

On 16/04/2014, in Security, by Norman Dean

I just found a major flaw in the security of Google+ images for the privacy of images sent between Google hangout app users. For Android users who are using the Hangout app instead of the normal SMS app more than likely are having their private messages and pictures stored on a Google+ server, and there is a giant gaping security flaw in how access to those images are doled out. Basically there is no access restriction if you have a link.

Lets say you have a private chat using Hangout, you send a few confidential images to each other. Google automatically stores them on Google+ images formally Picasa. You and the other person are the only ones that are supposed to be able to see the images, BUT if you copy the link to the image there is a free in the clear no account login required access to that image!

The image below is not supposed to be viewable